Chairmanship of Regional Ecotourism Committee passes on to DOT

           Legazpi City—Regional Director Maria Ravanilla of Department of Tourism Bicol is now the new chairperson of the Regional Ecotourism Committee (REC) after DENR Bicol Regional Director Gilbert Gonzales turned over the leadership for the REC last Friday (September 12, 2014) in a ceremony at the DENR Multipurpose Hall, Rawis, Legazpi City.

RD Ravanilla will now be head of the policy making body that oversees the management and conservation of the Region’s key ecotourism sites like the Mt. Mayon Volcano Natural Park in Albay, Mt. Bulusan Volcano Natural Park in Sorsogon and Mt. Isarog Natural Park in Camarines Sur.

For two years as the chairman of the REC, RD Gonzales was able to strengthen the mountain guide's role in environmental conservation by providing Naturalist Guiding Seminars and trained 45 REC licensed mountain guides.

The same group was also provided with technical assistance through product development and business preparation workshop.

The REC likewise was able to submit National Ecotourism Plans for Caramoan National Park, Mt. Isarog Natural Park and Bulusan Volcano Natural Park to the PAWD.

Dir. Gonzales thanked all stakeholders and members of the Protected Area Management Board or PAMB in their support during his stint as chairman of the REC.

RD Gonzales said the DENR will continue to support and provide technical assistance to the REC whenever the need arises and through the Protected Areas and Wildlife Division the regional office will continue with its job to supervise, manage and conserve the protected areas through sound enforcement of the NIPAS Act and other environmental rules and regulations.

Press Release: September 15, 2014