DENR V Names 2013 SARINGAYA Awardees

         The Department of Environment and Natural Resources Region V discloses its 2013 SARINGAYA awardees with five “stalwarts” who made headways in environment management. This year’s winners are: (a) Bolos Elementary School, Irosin Sorsogon, thru the leadership of Maria Ines P. Galon Head Teacher II (Elementary Level); (b) Magallanes National Vocational High School, Magallanes Sorsogon, thru the leadership of Miss Harrietta A. Mirasol Principal I (Secondary Level); (c) Universidad de Sta. Isabel, Naga City thru the leadership of SR. Lourdes Albis, DC University President (Tersiary Level). For the Industry Category Bacman Geothermal Incorporated, Bacon Sorsogon thru the leadership of Engr. Ireneo D. Itoses Plant Manager and for the Local Government Unit Category Sta. Magdalena Sorsogon led by Hon. Mayor Alejandro Gamos CE, Municipal Mayor were declared winners.

        The Technical Working Committee headed by Regional Technical Director Pobleo M. Florece screened the contenders based on the meritorious accomplishments and impact to the community. For instance, Bolos Elementary School, Irosin Sorsogon established vegetable garden using indegeous and recycled materials and help raise the environmental awareness of the community to adopt the same project in their households. The Magallanes National Vocational High School, Magallanes Sorsogon iniated the establishment of a mangrove plantation that steered the community’s interest and participation in the upkeep of their coastline and in watershed adaptation, all of which were duly supported by the Local Government Units, and Non-Governmental Organizations thereby strengthening their collective environmental advocacy. The Universidad de Sta. Isabel, Naga City ran programs that educated its students and the public on environmental concerns especially in the aspect of waste management from within and from outside the campus that helped address pressing environmental problems. They engaged in green house gas emission inventory, as well as linked with local, national, and in international organizations to strengthen its environmental advocacy.

Meanwhile, the Bacman Geothermal Incorporated, Bacon Sorsogon was strongly considered for its exemplary greening legacy, the BINHI Project, its being a willing host of the Adopt – A WildLife species program of the DENR, its participation in the development and management of a 450 hectare watershed area together with the Local Government Unit of Castilla, Sorsogon, and for involving itself in the provincial multi – sectoral forest protection committee of the province of Sorsogon.

The Local Government Unit Category, Sta. Maria Magdalena Sorsogon was considered for being an exemplary Local Government Unit when it created its own MENRO and Municipal Waste Management Board (MSWB), for the re-establishment of Materials Recovery Facilities (MRF) in clustered barangays, and for the successful implementation of eco-friendly home and community, program. The Municipality has pioneered the successful co – management with the private sector in the conservation of small watersheds to sustain the domestic needs of the communities.

        The Committee has decided to confer Special Recognition to the Provincial Environmentand Natural Resources Office LGU of Sorsogon, Albay Park and Wildlife and Bicol SCUBA Divers’ Foundation Inc. for their initiative to organize Integrated Coastal Management Council; expertise in Wildlife Rescue Operation, for allowing the use of its Rescue Facilities that served as temporary shelters to wildlife confiscated, surrendered and turned over to DENR V; and for supporting reef clean up activities in the coastal waters, respectively.

        Over the years a totala of 89 individuals and entities have been named Saringaya Awardees including the late DILG Secretary Jesse M. Robredo who was cited for his achievements as Naga City Mayor in 2002.

        Saringaya is a Bicol term which means lush or abundance of growth. ( A synonymous Bicol word is “marambong.”)

Press Release: June 18, 2013